What the heck is a financial plan?

Modern Centsability

Often when people ask me what I do, and I tell them I’m a financial planner, they automatically reply, “Oh, I have one of those”.  Patiently, I ask them to explain further what their ‘financial planner’ does for them and 9 times out of 10, get the same response: “Well, they invest my money for me.”  Upon further prodding, most people realize they do not have a written financial plan.

Has your advisor offered to do a written financial plan for you?

Likely, no.  Most advisors do not have the skill set to do a proper written financial plan, or their practice of investment management is already a full time job in itself.  If you are looking for an advisor who will develop a plan for you, look for someone with the CFP (Certified Financial Planner) credential.  This means that not only do they have the skill set to develop…

View original post 617 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

